Laadli Media and Advertising Awards
National Award Winners 2012-13
The Laadli Media Awards honor, recognize and celebrate the efforts of those in media and advertising who highlight pressing gender concerns. It was launched in 2007. A year later, UNFPA joined Population First to make it a pan India event. Five annual awards events have been held so far with over 474 awards presented across 28 States and 6 Union territories of India, covering 13 languages. Close to 208 of the most distinguished names in Advertising, Film and Media were part of our jury. Many other media icons and artists across India supported the Laadli campaign through sponsorships and free performances.

Laadli Media Awards are not an end in itself for us. It represents the culmination of a year long advocacy which starts with the widespread dissemination of the call for entries clearly delineating what is gender sensitive writing. Besides, directly contacting media persons, media networks and web sites are also used to reach out to reach out to as many journalists as possible.

Press conferences are held in all the major cities to announce the call for entries and are reported extensively in the media.

Language specific jury meetings are held in different cities to engage the local media leaders in the process of selection of winning entries.

Quick Facts about LMAAGS 2012-13
A total of 1700 entries received from across India in 12 languages
88 awards are presented across the four regions
73 jury members selected the winning entries
23 Awards presented at the National level

Ms. Shaukat Kaifi, theatre and film personality  received the Laadli of the Century award
Ms.Lalitha Lajmi, renowned artiste, was presented the Laadli Lifetime Achievement Award

Aditya Birla Group and United Phosphorus sponsored the Western and Southern region awards respectively

TATAs were the sponsors of the National Laadli Media and Advertising Awards 2012-13

Click on the links below to know more about the various editions of our awards...